Home > Hyper-V, SCVMM > Demonstrating SCVMM Cloning/Provisioning without an Internet Connection

Demonstrating SCVMM Cloning/Provisioning without an Internet Connection

If you ever need to demonstrate SCVMM 2008 R2 Provisioning (via Template) or via 3rd Party Product like Quest vWorkspace, the SCVMM Server has to have an Wired Internet Connection (not Wifi/WLAN.  This has bugged me for quite some time as at my home office everything works great, but if I take my Uber-Notebook with me to a conference, provisioning fails unless I have a hard-wired Internet Connection.

The error message in SCVMM is:

Error (2944): VMM is unable to complete the requested operation because the server name [Insert Server Name Here] can not be resolved.

The error message is the same in Quest vWorkspace:

One needs a hard wired Internet Connection because Hyper-V and SCVMM don’t support Wireless Cards. Since I use a DHCP Server on one of my VMs, I really don’t want to be plugged into someone’s network

So after months of mucking around I finally found a workaround.  On my SCVMM Server, if I disable the “Microsoft ISATAP Adapter”, this check for an Internet Connection does not appear to happen and my VM Provisioning works perfectly.

So now I can be connected to the Internet (or not) via WiFi, have my Virtual Network Adapter bound to my Physical NIC and it works perfectly.  The additional bonus is that because my DHCP Server is on a VM that’s bound to the physical adapter, I don’t have to worry about WiFi/WLAN users on the same subnet depleting my DHCP Scope.

This also means I don’t have to carry a pocket router with me to plug my notebook into.  I used to do this so I’d always connect my physical NIC to the same NAT IP Address and protect all of my VMs from getting re-IPed on a different subnet.

So far so good!  Please let me know if you have any questions.  Below are screenshots of what SCVMM and Quest vWorkspace look like when provisioning is working.

Categories: Hyper-V, SCVMM
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

